City Council

Litchfield's City Council works together with the Mayor and City Administrator to ensure that City departments are running smoothly and that citizen concerns are heard. This eight-member committee consists of two Alderpersons from each of Litchfield’s four wards. Alderpersons are elected for four-year terms. If you are interested in serving as an Alderperson please contact the Montgomery County Clerk’s Office.  

How We Serve Our Residents

Some of the key duties of our City Council include, but are not limited to:

  • Review and approve the annual budget.
  • Establish long- and short-term objectives and priorities.
  • Establish tax rates.
  • Pass ordinances and resolutions.

Join Our Meetings

City Council Meeting Dates and City Holidays 2023 (PDF)

Corwin Hall
City Hall Building
120 E Ryder Street
Litchfield, IL 62056

Agendas & Minutes

Review City Council agenda information and meeting minutes.

We Want to Hear From You

For electronic communication with the Mayor or Council Members, please send an email to our Executive Assistant.

Council Members

Name Ward
Committee Assignment

Address Phone Number
Marilyn Sisson Ward 1
Police/Code Enforcement
901 E Tyler
Dwayne Gerl
Ward 1
613 E St. John Street
Sara Zumwalt
Ward 2
Building & Grounds
804 S State Street
Dan Newkirk
Ward 2
409 S State Street 217-313-0603
Josh Hughes
Ward 3
Fire and Ambulance Service
1103 N Monroe Street
Kassidy Paine
Ward 3
City Clerk/Finance
809 N Van Buren
Jake Fleming
Ward 4
Wastewater Treatment
390 Arrowhead Lane
Ray Kellenberger
Ward 4
Economic Development
Building, Planning and Zoning
41 Sassafras Lane